

# MUSIC TO INSPIRE

OCTOBER 20, 2023, 8PM
CALVIN PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, TORONTO

# TONIGHT'S CONCERT IS DEDICATED TO THE MEMORY OF DELICIA RAVEENTHRARAJAN

TāReKiṬa миsіс Reena Esmail Ambe Anishinaabeg миsic William Byrd 🛛 ARR Andrew Balfour 🌞 🗸 техт Cory Campbell 🍁 Lead Us Home миsic Matthew Emery \* техт Marjorie Pickthall \* Alleluia миsіс Jake Runestad Sure on this shining night Music Samuel Barber TEXT James Agee Sonnez les cloches! MUSIC & TEXT Traditional folk song ARR Timothy Corlis \* Nearly Insane миsіс Ysaÿe M. Barnwell техт Mary Moore Easter мизіс Lili Boulanger техт Casimir Delavigne Lynn Janes, soloist Hymne au soleil Peace миsic Sarah Quartel 🌞 техт Sara Teasdale Sanctus Music Hyun Kook TEXT Traditional Latin Don't BE Afraid MUSIC & TEXT Allyson Reigh \* ARR Jennifer McMillan \* Hannah Martin, soloist More Waters Rising MUSIC & TEXT Saro Lynch-Thomason ARR Saunder Choi Afternoon on a Hill MUSIC Eric William Barnum TEXT Edna St. Vincent Millay



# LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We acknowledge the land we perform on is the traditional territory of many nations including the Mississaugas of the Credit, the Anishnabeg, the Chippewa, the Haudenosaunee, and the Wendat peoples, and is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples.

We also acknowledge that Toronto is covered by Treaty 13, signed with the Mississaugas of the Credit, and the Williams Treaties, signed with multiple Mississaugas and Chippewa bands.

Exultate Chamber Singers is committed to deepening our understanding of Indigenous ways of knowing and being and the role we can play in our collective call for reconciliation. We invite you to pause to reflect on your relationship with these lands and your path towards reconciliation.

# **EXULTATE CHAMBER SINGERS**

# Mark Ramsay

Artistic Director and Conductor

#### SOPRANO

Rachel Bogues
Julia Brotto\*
June Higgins
Lynn Janes
Manishya Jayasundera
Shanda Lee
Rachel MacEwan
Vivian Moens\*
Lizzy Perkins

# ALTO

Elaine Choi
Mary Gillmeister\*
Jesslyn Hynds\*
Bina John
Mira Jung
Kelly Lin
Hannah Martin
Anna Mersov\*
Lindsay Naft
Vyllana Nguyen

# Mira Jung

Pianist

#### TENOR

Andy Foster
Patrick Lam
Daniel Meeks
Michael Rowland
Gareth Simpson
Duncan Stuart
Mishaal Surti

#### BASS

Scott Brubacher Caleb Jonker Jim King Jason Locke Lachlan Mason Brian Prinzen Jeff Reynolds Alan Wiseman



#### **ABOUT**

Exultate Chamber Singers is an adult, mixed-voice chamber choir located in the heart of downtown Toronto. The ensemble is enriched not only by the strong musicianship of its members but also by their varied ages, cultural backgrounds, and academic and professional credentials. Together they form a passionate, committed ensemble with a wide-ranging repertoire.

Exultate is proud to mentor promising young conductors through its Apprentice Conductor Program, and to support the continued development of Canadian choral music through its programming, commissions, and reading sessions of new music by young composers.

The choir is a three-time winner of the Healey Willan Grand Prize in the CBC National Radio Competition and was awarded first place in the chamber choir category of Choral Canada's 2019 National Competition for Canadian Amateur Choirs.

In addition to presenting its annual concert series, Exultate has made regular appearances around Ontario, toured in Canada, collaborated with dozens of artists, and enjoyed airplay on CBC Radio. Exultate recently released its sixth album, At First Light, showcasing new Canadian choral music commissioned by the choir in recent years.

# MESSAGE FROM THE ARTISTIC DIRECTOR

Welcome to the opening concert of our 42nd season, and there is no better way to start the year than with "Music to Inspire!"

We've filled this concert with music that is joyful, comforting, and inspiring. You'll hear a thoughtful reimagining of a choral staple by Juno-nominated composer Andrew Balfour, rhythmic celebrations thanks to Reena Esmail, Jake Runestad, and Hyun Kook, lush harmonies from Sarah Quartel and Samuel Barber, and so much more. There really is something for everyone in this programme.

For us, this is one big feel-good sing! For you, we hope you get happily lost while listening, leave humming a memorable melody, and find yourself feeling refreshed and inspired. Thank you for joining! We look forward to singing for you again in December!

Mark Ramsay

Artistic Director and Conductor

#### THANK YOU TO OUR DONORS

#### **BENEFACTORS**

Anonymous Donor (2) Hilary Apfelstadt Scott Brubacher Victoria Davies David Fuller June Higgins Joseph Hillier Tom Leslie & Anne Macdonald Vivian Moens & Matt O'Gorman

Marja Moens Jake Neely in honour of Howard & Maggie Dyck Mark Ramsay Jeff Reynolds & Camille Watts Chad Rogers & Mark Wong

#### CHAMPIONS

\$500-\$999

Sharon Adamson Elaine Choi Suzanne & Andy Coultes Andrew Foster Russell Higgins Linda & Stan Locke Asher Maan Cecilia Moens Brian Prinzen Bryant Ramdoo & Ashley Houlden Michael & Lydia Rowland Graham Thomson

#### **LEADERS**

\$200-\$499

Anonymous Donor (2) Katy Baker Rachel Bogues Matthew Boutda Marvin & Kay Brubacher Andrew Fleming & Roger Keglevick Mazin Furniture Industries Kelsey Grieve Greg & Debbie Hillier Mechtild Hoppenrath-Oberdorf Jessalyn Hynds

Lynn & Ken Janes Bina John Mira Jung Rob & Joni Kwinter Patricia & John Lee Kelly Lin Rachel MacEwan Lachlan Mason Sadie Menicanin Paul & Sharon Menicanin Anna-Maria Mersov Jeannette Moens in memory of Wil Moens Frank & Melissa Moens Shirley Morriss Paul Mutch Lindsay Naft Marcia & Hart Nemoy Lori Nemoy

Carol Percy Anne-Marie Prendiville & John Gillies Mark Russom Mishaal Surti Judy Todd Kathy & Bill Vice Steve Wadhams & Deborah Baird James & Elizabeth Wallace Firth Whitwam & Julie Makepeace Albert Wong

Tristan O'Gorman

Josh Patlik

#### **SUPPORTERS**

Sami Anguyaya Kelly Baxter Golding Larry Beckwith & Teri Dunn Susan Bennett Donna Blakeborough Julia Brotto Ian Campbell Timothy Cooper & Susan Bleakney John & Ilene Cummings Rimas Danaitis Natasha Devlin

Isabelle Dobronyi Rob Dowler Richard Earls Stephen Ellison Diane English Marg & Bruce Ewing Deborah Finlayson & Dan Leader

Rod Fleck David Gray Carl Gritter Elizabeth Herlich Elliot Hume Tyler Jensen Larry Joffe Carolyn Kearns Benjamin Klein Carolyn Knott Anne Larkin Katie Larson Lampert Lawgic Shanda Lee David & Andrea Lee David & Kim Levy

Felicia Lipson Sheila Macadam Jennifer & Michael MacDonald Kate MacNeill-Malloy & George Malloy Bryan Martin

Mildred Mazin-Falk Ann McAulay Meghan Moore John & Maire Percy

Craig Pike Brenda & Bryan Ramsay Aglaya Redekopp

Rebecca Rogers Bessie & Chris Roides Madeleine Rowland-Roides **Gundars Roze** 

Sharyn Salsberg-Ezrin David Spence Martha ter Kuile Leanne Tilt

Martin Traub-Werner Lindsay Waddell Nancy White Jay Wilson Tracy Wong

# CONTRIBUTORS

\$10-\$99

Hillary Abbott

Sarah Aleem Julia Armstrong Anne Armstrong Nancy Beck Leonard & Diane Brittain Dan Brubacher Elaine Campbell Pamela Campbell

Tami Cartman John Corcelli **Spencer Cripps** Matthew Emery Frances Farrell Julia Frodyma Randy Gangbar

Noel & Juanita Gordon Tavia Grant Ryan Guptill Evan Hammell Kate & Simon Helsen Greg Jayasundera Don & Francie Kendal Rob & Anna Kennedy Christine Kerr Gideon Kwinter Barbara Leibel Lloyd MacLean Mary Ella Magill

Tracy Montgomery Laraine Naft Neil Naft Maksim Nekrasov Ainne Nguyen Jaesun Noh Gillis O'Gorman

Pauline Malley

Rachelle Mazin

Judy Mance

Emily Schurman in honour of Trish MacAuley

Jessica Stern **Anthony Tamberg** & Lynda Wang Veronica Uzielli Maureen Wall Margaret Walton Kim Webster

Alan Wiseman

Amy Young





















